Tags

, , , , , ,


oat, banana, cranberry, muffins, breakfast, treat, baking
Every now and then a debate comes up about “How healthy are muffins, really?”. While some claim that if it has whole grains and fruit it is definately breakfast material, I have seen many muffins (especially those sold in coffee shops) to be more like undecorated cupcakes with all the white flour and sugar. That said, there is still nothing better to soothe those 10am munchies with a homemade muffin especially if the breakfast you had that morning didn’t seem to touch sides.

I made 2 substitutions in this recipe, one out of curiosity and one out of necessity when I ran short of cranberries and topped up the weight with some white chocolate bits, as you do, and I heard no complaints . The other substitution I mentioned was the oats. Did you know that Jungle Oats has recently brought out a red berries flavour? I found it on the shelf at my local Checkers and it was selling for the same price as the plain version. I used these oats in crunchies and few weeks ago and it definately added a twist to the standard recipe.

For the recipe, please go to http://food.rumtumtiggs.co.za/cranberry-banana-and-oat-muffins/