While I’m not old enough to remember the “good old days” where supermarkets were a foreign concept and you got your meat from a butcher and your milk from a dairy, I imagine it was a wonderful thing to be able to walk into the local butcher where he actually knew your name and you chatted about children and family when you went to pick up your meat for the week. I am old enough to remember dropping little discs into glass milk bottles and putting them out on the stoep for the milkman but even that was phased out all too quickly. As it is, there is no justification for going to borrow a cup of sugar from the neighbour since your local corner store has turned into a shop that is open from 7am to 11pm 7 days a week.

When you are on a tight budget, you come face to face on a weekly basis how expensive things have become and you really have to hunt for bargains. Often, that means you spend a lot of your time finding little hidden gems in order to save a few rands. There is a Chinese shop down the road that not only makes a nice chow mein but has 2-ply toilet paper for R20 for a pack of 10 rolls. Then there is a pizza place that not only has 2 large pizzas for R120 (all pizzas even the ones with the fancy toppings) but they sell all their cheeses (blue, mozzarella, feta) for R54/kg. This cheese shop is owned by a guy who still actually makes the pizzas and operates the till but also takes time out of his day to find out how you and the kids are doing and recommends his pick of the week.

This brings me to the topic of today’s post. I was in a supermarket on Saturday and I needed to buy some coffee. And I’m sure I don’t have to tell you that sometimes it is better to pay more to get something that is high quality but when I looked at some of the prices (e.g. R85 for a 250g packet of ground coffee) I turned and walked away. 250g of coffee lasts about 2 weeks in our house (that is 1-2 cups per day for 2 people) and I simply cannot justify spending over R170 per month on our morning beverage. I’m actually really not sure how people manage to buy a cup of coffee everyday from a coffee shop before work. So I decided to share one of my hidden gems with you. Since the article has already been written (not by me) it makes sense to just share the link http://www.capetownmagazine.com/cafes/The-coffee-mans-aromas-invite-the-people-in/93_22_18253

Here you can find coffee for prices ranging from just over R40 per 250g and you can customize your blend to your liking. There are no limits to the combinations you can try out. There is something really special about selecting your beans, watch them be ground to spec according to how you brew and walk out with a warm bag of tantalizing coffee. I usually take a walk up Loop Street to get the coffee and bring it back to the office. If you don’t put the bag away, the gorgeous smell of freshly ground coffee with permeates the whole office.

I am aware that there are many amazing little places in and around Cape Town like @truthcoffee and @rosettaroastery (follow them on Twitter) but since I haven’t tried them yet it makes no sense for me to comment on their awesomeness. Anthony’s Golden Cup Coffee Shop is where I get my coffee and they give a great service for a reasonable price. Where do you go for your coffee?

