BUDGET! There I said it. I can almost hear the gasps. “How dare she…?” you may ask. “Such a bad word!” others may say. Well, in this post I hope to answer that question.

When I went to #FBI2012, I was challenged to look at my blog and ask myself the question,” what am I offering my readers?” Since I have frustrated myself by just making other bloggers recipes and posting my experience and I feel I can’t really call myself a foodie since I rarely go out to eat and more often than not it’s at SPUR (and there go the remaining readers who weren’t scared off by the title) I decided to really dig deep and make a change for the better.

I Google’d budget blogs and, while there are many bloggers from the USA (them with the awesome coupon system and the like) pages from South Africa came up very short. Try it for yourself if you don’t believe me and visit http://thebudgetingbabe.com/budgeting-blogs/ if you want some USA links to budgeting sites.

Every now and then a food blogger will do a post on “Cooking on a budget” but often the very next post requires 2 tubs of mascarpone and 750ml of fresh cream. Have you seen what those go for these days?? I love it when I see recipes with heart-warming stories like this one http://blogs.food24.com/cookalooks/2012/06/20/budget-pork-comfort/ and I even did a post late last year on how I keep my kids tummies full and warm for about R14 per kilogram packet of ACE porridge http://blogs.food24.com/rumtumtigger/2011/08/15/the-secrets-outbudget-beating-breakfast/ . But sadly, there are more recipes that require expensive ingredients than there are good budget friendly recipes that go beyond the realm of stew and other dishes that may or may not taste like cardboard.

I also get that there is more to life than cooking and eating so I wanted to open up my blog to other topics too like good deals you can get on experiences (Groupon has been such a help in this regard) or hints and tips on how to make your money stretch just a few days further. At this point I would like to point out that I am no expert, I don’t sell policies/Avon/Tupperware and I don’t belong to an affiliate program (Groupon included). So I will simply be sharing my experience in the hopes that you too can benefit and maybe we can start sharing ideas with one another.

Please also know that while I am green with envy of other food bloggers for whom money is no object and they live happily surrounded by their kitchens full of KitchenAid, Le Creuset and Wursthof I am not judging at all. I simply bake from scratch because I can’t afford ready mixes and budget because if I didn’t, I would be in even more financial trouble than I already am.

So I hope that this post will be taken in the spirit it was meant and that you will leave a comment and let me know what you think of my idea.

