A belated Happy Mothers Day to all mom’s that read this blog. There are no words to express the value in what you do and how much impact that makes on society. From one mom to another, YOU ROCK! πŸ˜‰

I have mentioned before that I have a fear of baking with gelatin and since I was having my mom and mother in law over for tea on Sunday, I decided to get over myself and conquer this fear. I found this recipe a while back and I am afraid to say that I don’t remember who posted it originally. I hate posting recipes without being able to give credit to the right person but maybe the person who posted it will read this and leave a comment. I will happily edit the post accordingly straight away. I was unable to find leaf gelatin and had to substitute with powered gelatin which I dissolved in about 25mls of hot water for my first attempt.

Chocolate, Caramel and Vanilla cheesecake

Here’s what you need:

200gr ginger biscuits
100gr butter, melted

500ml cream
1 tin Dulce de Leche
100gr good quality dark chocolate – melted
1 tin condensed milk
juice of 2 lemons
250gr cream cheese – make sure it is at room temperature
3 sheets of gelatin (or 1 sachet of powered gelatin)
Vanilla extract

Make a biscuit base with the biscuits and butter and line the base of a spring form pan.
Soften the gelatin in a bowl with some cold water. When soft, place the bowl in the microwave for about 30 seconds or until gelatin has dissolved. Cool slightly.
Squeeze the juice of the lemons and add to the condensed milk in a bowl.Stir until it thickens.
Add the cream cheese and let it rest while you whip the cream until stiff. Now add the cream cheese mixture to the cream and gently fold it in. Fold in the gelatin…a little bit at a time.
Divide your cheesecake mixture into three bowls.
Bowl no 1. Add the melted chocolate.
Bowl no 2. Add the Dulce de Leche
Bowl no 3. Add some vanilla extract
Slowly start pouring the layers into the prepared pan, 1 flavor at a time. Be very gentle and try not to have to spread the mixture or else the colors will blend.

