Tags


Delicious puffs of cinammon drenched goodness with all the health benefits of butternut

I was reading up on the concept of Clean Eating recently and some of the concepts appealed to me as I have been trying to make healthier choices. Saying that in the (10 days short of a) year that I have been food blogging it was “Food Blogging that made me Fat” would be laughable and very immature to not take responsibility for what I have been putting into my body.

Autumn and Winter is a great time to get veggies in with all the soups and stews that are perfect to come home to after a trip home on a leaky bus but it doesn’t help the waistline if you follow that up with some hot chocolate and homemade butter cookies. I’m hesitating to type this next part but I have also signed up for the Winter Special at ABC boot camp that starts on 28 May. This winter special consists of 2 consecutive boot camps (5 days a week) for R850 (normal price R690 per camp). If you want to join me in the insanity, here is the link and tell them I sent you https://www.adventurebootcamp.co.za/register.php5?a=camp&id=3394. At the end of the day, I’m going to need your help to stick it out and go every night come rain, wind, runny nose and the like.

I found this recipe on the Pick n Pay website http://www.picknpay.co.za/picknpay/content/en/recipes and decided to make it for the kids on one rainy day over the long weekend. It went down better than I expected with many 2nd, 3rd and 4th helpings before we went off to Canal Walk to have a squizz at the Car Show. I have to feed my brood before we go out to stop the “I’m hungry” whine.

Cinnamon-spiced butternut flapjacks

500 grams butternuts, diced

1 large PnP egg

125 ml PnP low fat milk

7 ml PnP ground cinnamon

2 tbsp PnP brown sugar

1.5 cups self raising flour, bran-rich

60 ml PnP olive oil, or canola oil

1 tub PnP low fat yoghurt, for serving

■Makes about 16

■Simmer butternut in boiling water until cooked through

■Drain well and set aside

■Mash or purée butternut until smooth.

Mix in egg, milk, cinnamon and sugar.

■Sift flour into wet ingredients and carefully fold through to combine. Leave to stand for 10-15 minutes.

■Heat oil in a large non-stick pan to a medium heat.

Spoon mixture into pan.

■Cook until golden on both sides and cooked through

■Serve with a dollop of yoghurt, chopped nuts and a drizzle of maple syrup or honey

Instead of serving mine with the recommended yogurt, honey and nuts I made up a batch of cinnamon sugar using about half a cup of castor sugar and added 1 heaped tablespoon on cinnamon. I placed about 3 tablespoons of cinnamon sugar on a plate and drained the flapjacks on some paper towel before transferring them over to the sugar covered plate. I then sprinkled some more cinnamon sugar over the top and dusted off the excess before serving.
While I was typing this up, I was trying to decide what to call it. PnP calls them flapjacks but I would call them fritters due to the fruit/veg content. Can anyone help me out and explain the difference?

